Contact Groups

MT-Organizer allows you to group your contacts using three pre-defined group labels that you can assign to your contacts: Friends, Family, and Business. It also allows you to define your own contact groups. This page outlines procedures for:

  • Adding contact groups
  • Viewing contact groups
  • Modifying contact groups
  • Printing contact groups
  • Deleting contact groups

Adding contact groups  top

You can create your own contact group definitions to assign to your contacts, and to use as a selector for viewing or printing contacts by group.

To add a contact group  top

  1. From the menu, click Tools then Options.
  2. Select the Groups tab. (See Figure 4.1.)
  3. Type a name in the Group name field.
  4. Click Add.
  5. Click OK.

This group name is now defined and will be available when adding, viewing, or printing contacts.

Figure 4.1 - Add Contact Group Screen

Figure 4.1 - Tools > Options > Groups

Viewing contact groups  top

You can view the contacts in a contact group by selecting one or more defined contact groups.

To view a contact group  top

  1. Click Contacts.
  2. From the menu, select File the Action then View Groups.
  3. Select the group of contacts you want to view. (See Figure 4.2.)
  4. Repeat Steps 1-3 to select multiple groups.

The contacts from the groups you selected appear in the Quick Access area.

Figure 4.2  File > Action > View Groups list

Figure 4.2 - File > Action > View Groups list

Note: Contacts without an assigned group name will appear with any group you select and will appear multiple times in the list. Correct this by assigning group names to all contacts.

Modifying contact groups  top

You can modify group names you have defined. You cannot modify the three, pre-defined group labels: Friends, Family, and Business.

To modify a contact group  top

  1. From the menu, click Tools then Options.
  2. Select the Groups tab. (See Figure 4.1.)
  3. Click the group name you want to modify.
  4. Type a new name for the group.
  5. Click Modify
  6. Click OK.

All contacts with the old group name now have the new name and the old group name is replaced on the Group drop-down menu on the Add Contacts screen.

Printing contact groups  top

You can select a single group or multiple groups of contacts for printing.

To print contact groups  top

  1. At the top of the window, click Contacts.
  2. Select File then Print Group from the menu. (See Figure 4.3.)
  3. Figure 4.3  File > Print Group list

    Figure 4.3 - File > Print Group list

    → Tip: Ctrl+G is a shortcut that will bring up the same screen.

  4. Select the group or groups to print and click OK.
  5. Select printer settings and click OK.

Deleting contact groups  top

You can delete contact groups you have defined. You cannot delete the three, pre-defined group labels: Friends, Family, and Business

Note: This function deletes only the group name, not the contacts assigned to this group.

To delete a contact group  top

  1. From the menu, click Tools then Options.
  2. Select the Groups tab. (See Figure 4.1.)
  3. Click the group name you want to delete.
  4. Click OK.

Notes:

  • Contacts assigned to this deleted group retain the deleted group label.
  • However, since the group name no longer exists, there is no longer any way to select that deleted group to view or print.

Last updated 4/24/09 Top